A series of open-source workshops on 3D printing that are appropriate for libraries.

ABC3D is an exploratory project seeking to design and prototype a dozen workshops on 3D printing in libraries, based on the living labs model.

At the conclusion of the project, a detailed guide for each workshop will be shared online, and bundled into a PDF, so that any libraries, be they in Quebec or elsewhere in the world, may be inspired and facilitate their own workshops.

Context - Why 3D printing in the library?

  • Libraries are evolving into third spaces and including a greater diversity of activities. They are not longer just book archives. Instead, libraries are spaces which provide access to a wider spectrum of activites and cultural content.
  • The concept HOMAGO (Hanging Out / Mess Around / Geek Out) is increasingly popular, notably among youth.
  • Many libraries, particularly in Canada (Toronto, Calgary, New Brunswick, ...), have acquird 3D printers and begun mediating activities with these machines. More than 250 libraries in the United States have a 3D printer.
  • Given their extended opening hours, libraries are ideal spaces for hosting this equipment. Also, access is often free and materials are typically provided at cost.
  • 3D technology is becoming increasingly democratized. The available machines are getting smaller, significantly cheaper and much easier to use. It's a phenomen which some call the 3rd Industrial Revolution. Previously a technological process available only to the manufacturing industry and large corporations, 3D printers are now scattered in people's homes.
  • Spaces which are granting access to these machines (fablabs, makerspaces, techshops, etc.) are increasingly popular and spreading in Québec.
  • It is still early days for truly understanding the educational and social potential of 3D printing. It can serve as an entry point for a variety of complex topics: manufacturing, modeling, math, coding, mechanics, robotics, thermodynamics, etc. Also, there are more and more tools specific to varied industries (architecture, health, fasion, etc.).
  • More generally, it serves as a means for digital literacy (understanding, awareness and skills permitting the use of digital tools), which is more necessary than ever for the public at large.

However ...

  • Among the libraries which are equipped with 3D printers, the workshops proposed to the public are at an introductory level. 3D printing is a craze. Most available workshops, however, are just introductory or discovery learning and 3D printing on demand. As 3D printers are increasingly democratized, our project will renew and enrich the available experiences in Bibliolabs.
  • Despite their spread, the Fablabs and makerspaces often struggle to reach the public at large. Often they are dominated by an already well-informed public.

We thus believe that it is necessary to explore the potential of 3D printing in libraries in a way which is experimental and open, in order to develop ideal practices, and to democratize use and access.

This project is taking place in partnership with the network of libraries of Montreal.

It contributes the program the Montreal Smart City and to the program Quartiers culturels durables.


Tags
impression 3D
libraries
workshop
discovery
learning
experimentation

Documents

Une série d'ateliers open-source à réaliser en bibliothèque grâce à l'impression 3D.

ABC3D est un projet exploratoire qui vise à concevoir et expérimenter une dizaine d'ateliers différents utilisant l'impression 3D en bibliothèque, sur le modèle des living labs.

À la fin du projet, une description précise de chaque atelier serait mise en ligne, puis intégrée dans un PDF, afin que d’autres bibliothèques, au Québec et dans le monde puissent s’en inspirer et animer leurs propres ateliers.

Contexte - Pourquoi l’impression 3D en bibliothèque ?

  • Les bibliothèques sont en train d’évoluer en espaces ‘tiers-lieux’ et proposent différents types d’activités. Elles ne sont plus seulement des ‘collections de livres’ mais des endroits qui permettent d’accéder à un spectre plus large d’activités et de contenus culturels.
  • Le concept HOMAGO (Hanging Out / Mess Around / Geek Out) est de plus en plus populaire, notamment auprès des jeunes publics.
  • Plusieurs bibliothèques, notamment au Canada (Toronto, Calgary, Nouveau Brunswick, etc.), ont commencé à s’équiper d’imprimantes 3D et à proposer des activités autour de ces machines. Plus de 250 bilbiothèques sont déjà équpées aux Etats-Unis.
  • Les horaires d’ouverture très étendus des bibiothèques en font des lieux idéaux pour accéder à ces équipements. De plus, l’accès est souvent gratuits et les matériaux à prix coûtant.
  • La technologie 3D est en train de se démocratiser. Les machines sont de plus en plus petites, de moins en moins chères et de plus en plus faciles à controller. C’est le phénomène que certains appellent ‘la 3ème Révolution Industrielle’. D’abord un processus technologique réservé à l’industrie de pointe, les machines font leur apparition chez les particuliers.
  • Des espaces donnant au accès à ces équipements (fablabs, makerspaces, techshops, etc.) gagnent en popularité et commencent à faire leur apparition au Québec.
  • On commence tout juste à comprendre le potentiel éducatif et social des imprimantes 3D. Elles peuvent servir de point d’entrée pour aborder des sujets potentiellement complexes : fabrication, modélisation, mathématiques, code, mécanique, robotique, thermodynamique, etc. De plus, on voit en apparaitre des applications dans de nombreux champs (architecture, santé, mode, etc.).
  • Plus généralement, elles permettent de développer la ‘litéracie’ numérique (compréhension, connaissance et compétences permettant l’utilisation des outils numériques), plus que jamais nécessaire au grand public.

    Mais…

  • Parmi les bibliothèques qui se sont équipées d'imprimantes 3D, les ateliers proposés aux citoyens sont de niveau débutant. Ils suscitent un véritable engouement chez les citoyens. Toutefois ils consistent principalement en des ateliers de découverte et d'impression à la demande. Au fur et à mesure de la démocratisation des imprimantes 3D, notre projet permettra de renouveler et d'enrichir l'expérience des Bibliolabs.
  • Malgré leur développement, les FabLabs et autres makerspaces peinent parfois à rejoindre le grand public. Ils restent souvent utilisés par une communauté d'utilisateurs avertis.

Nous pensons donc qu’il est nécessaire d’explorer les possibilités de l’impression 3D en bibliothèque de manière expérimentale et ouverte, afin de développer les bonnes pratiques, et d’en démocratiser l’usage et l’accès.

Ce projet est réalisé en partenariat avec le réseau des bibliothèques de Montréal.

Il contribue au programme de Ville Intelligente de Montréal et au programme des Quartiers Culturels Durables.


Tags
impression 3D
bilbiothèques
atelier
découverte
apprentissage
expérimentation

Documents